WebHost4Life is fucking horrible.

Luckily UT is not hosted on WebHost4Life, otherwise this site would have been a giant 404 or 503 error for the past 2 weeks.  WebHost4Life.com was my primary hosting service for the past 4 years or so, and they used to be very good.  Apparently sometime a few months ago they were bought out by another web hosting company, and they sent out a notice saying that they were moving all of their customers to a “new platform” that would be much better, etc.

Fair enough, sounds good.  They also had a lengthy “QA” process that took months (literally 3 months for my sites) so as to make sure they got everything just right.  More time the better, I say!  Then, when the time came for them to finally switch me over to the new platform, guess what?  That’s right, all of my websites went down.

Awesome QA job, WebHost4Life!

Most of the sites were copied over from old backups, deleting 6 months worth of changes, but that didn’t matter since none of them were even configured properly to load in the first place.  They didn’t have the URLs pointing to their respective directories, didn’t bother re-creating any of my virtual or application directories, and none of the IIS settings carried over from the old platform!  My database didn’t even make it over at all – they simply didn’t bother with it.

Some of these websites are mission-critical to my family’s various businesses, so after a week of dealing with WebHost4Life’s completely inept customer service and tech people, I decided to switch to a new hosting service.  I settled on Arvixe.com, and so far, they have been great.  Much easier platform to work with, tech support is spot on, and the service is faster as well.  I wish I were getting paid for this, but I’m not… I’m just a satisfied customer who is relieved to be off of WebHost4Life’s shitty hosting platform.

Let my experience be a lesson to others:  If your hosting company gets bought out, or they send you an email saying they are moving you to a new platform… Hedge your bets and GTFO!  If nothing else, stay away from WebHost4Life.com!

Leave a Reply

